“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.” ― Stephen King

DSC_0042I love this quote, and I love Stephen King.

Although, I should admit I’m not a huge fan of ALL of his books. I have read a few of his and most I have absolutely LOVED. The Shining – great! The Dead Zone – Awesome! Misery – changed my life!

Others were just too Stephen King-ey for me at the time. Dolores Clairborne – meh. Under the Dome – not a fan. You can’t always be in a mood to read horror after all. 😉

But, I completely agree with his quote: “If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”

It really is as simple as that. Writing is hard. It takes time and effort and dedication and a little bit of talent. If you don’t read (and love) books, then what are you writing for?

Without regular reading, how can you find out what you like, and don’t like, in a book? How can you figure out what kind of a book you want to write? How can you grasp the many important concepts required to write an entertaining novel which also makes sense to the reader?

I don’t think you can.

When I meet people who tell me they don’t read, I am always a little shocked. Because reading has been such a huge part of my life, I find it difficult to understand that there are people out there who simply don’t enjoy reading.

What’s not to love? While reading you can have a break from your own problems and get completely immersed in another world. You can fight dragons, save planets, fly rockets, visit aliens. Really, who wouldn’t want that?

So, let me know what you think. Do you love reading? Does it inspire you to write? Do you think a writer needs to read books in order to be successful? I’d be eager to hear your thoughts.

Happy reading – if you like that kind of thing – and writing! 😉

I’m at the tail end of a weekend of assignment writing. Gah, I’m over it. Time to get back to writing my novel.

Hope you had a productive weekend.

~Gem.

(Previously published on The Storytellers Hub)

 

 

Leave a Reply

