“No tears in the writer, no tears in the reader. No surprise in the writer, no surprise in the reader.” ― Robert Frost

10-10-2015 123I have always loved this quote. There truly is nothing more invigorating than being brought to tears by your own writing. Or laughing out loud at some sarcastic comment your character said.

I love that in every writing session I have, there is always SOMETHING which surprises me. Even the tiniest detail can make my day. A perfectly worded sentence. An excellent world-building idea. The coolest physical character trait. The best way to crush my heroes hopes and dreams.

So much fun!

(I love emotionally and physically crippling my characters… perhaps a little too much.)

I’ve always wondered if other writers find as much joy and surprise in writing their own work as they get from reading others? Let me know in the comments!

And, as always, happy writing!

Good luck smashing out a few thousand words this weekend. The only writing I’ll be doing this weekend is for an assignment I have been procrastinating. -.-

May your weekend be far more exciting than mine!

Cheers,

~Gem.

(Previously published on The Storytellers Hub)

Leave a Reply

