How important is your personal writing nest?

02Some call it a creative space. Others call it a writing nook. I call it a nest – mainly because I like the symmetry of the idea.

A nest is the place where a baby bird hatches, feeds, grows and, eventually, after long trials and hard work, the baby bird will launch into the skies and fly away. I like to think that this is what my writing will do after all my effort and heartache. I’m an optimist. 😉

So, as I develop a new writing project (12k words and counting) I am reminded of the importance of having a space which is uniquely yours for writing.

Now, contrary to popular opinion, I do not believe that the ‘writing nest’ is a stationary location. Although it would be nice to have a controlled desk space just for writing and editing, that is not always possible.

I have written on trains, buses, planes, on my phone, on the toilet, in a notebook, at cafes, in libraries, at university… the list goes on. I think you get my point. Inspiration can strike at any time and in any place, so it helps to be prepared for anything. And with your own portable writers nest, you can be!

The basic ingredients for a writing nest are easy enough to gather. All you NEED is:

  1. Something to write on/with (eg. laptop, computer, phone, notebook and pen, napkin and tomato sauce)
  2. Your brain. 
  3. A flat surface. 

Yep, that’s it. You now have a writing nest. That was easy, wasn’t it?

Personally, I love the idea of having a room completely dedicated to writing. A room stacked full of books with an enormous glass window facing out over a stunning landscape. And a spiral staircase. I’m not sure why, but a writing room needs – nay, DESERVES – a spiral staircase. Even if it only has one floor. 😉

Yes, it would be living the dream to have the time and money to spend hours in my writing nest without interruption as I dutifully create my next bestseller. At the moment, however, I (like many other aspiring writers) have the added excitement of finding time and space to write (See How to Develop a Writing Schedule for some tips on how to manage your time for your next writing project).

Because of the added complications of work, study, socializing and general adult responsibilities, I don’t believe that restricting oneself to a single set time and place for writing is wise. Now, don’t get me wrong – having a strict writing schedule is CRITICAL. Writing is a skill which requires practice and discipline, and we should never forget that.

But, to say that you can ONLY be creative during that time seems somewhat… harsh. Cruel even.

So, in my own roundabout way, I am saying stick to the schedule you have developed for yourself, BUT always be ready to utilize those quiet moments. Jot down some character traits during lunch. Develop that exciting plot twist while waiting in line for the bank. World build during your morning run.

Writing is an art, but it is also a lifestyle. Have fun with it, and don’t be afraid to get lost in your imagination during those short pauses during the day.

_____

So, what do you think? Do you have a strict writing location, or do you find yourself getting lost in your imagination during the day? Let me know, I don’t bite. Except on Mondays.

Thanks for reading. 🙂

~Gem.

(Previously published on The Storytellers Hub)

One thought on “How important is your personal writing nest?

Leave a Reply

