Easiest Lava Cake Recipe Ever!

Greetings!

After my recent post about ‘Healthy Chocolate Cupcake Snacks‘ I couldn’t stop thinking about how much I love cake. And although the recipe linked above is delicious and I highly recommend it as a healthy alternative, sometimes you just really need a fix of devilish food.

So, yesterday I rummaged through the fridge for the ingredients for some vanilla cupcakes which I love (and will surely write a post about at some point in the future) but was devastated to discover that we had no icing sugar! What is the point of cake without icing?!

After a few minutes sulking and generally have a bit of a hangry moment, I had a brainwave. Lava cakes don’t need icing! They are all gooey and soft on the inside so you don’t need it. Brilliant!

My only trepidation was that I had heard through the grapevine that lava cakes were a somewhat challenging dish – like the souffle – which is either perfect or a disaster of epic proportions.

a_hedgehog

Imma just leave this here…

But I gave it a try anyway, and I am so glad I did.

Oh my goodness, these cakes were gooood.

The original RECIPE FOR EASY LAVA CAKE is linked HERE or you can read on.

RECIPE: 

Ingredients: 

180g dark chocolate (high percentage – good quality!)

250g butter

4 large eggs

1/2 cup caster sugar

1/4 cup plain flour

Pinch of cocoa powder (for good luck)

Method: 

Melt chocolate and butter together in microwave safe bowl, stirring every 30 seconds. Allow to cool.

Grease ceramic dishes (I used ramekins, would recommend something smaller) with butter, then line with flour. Put greased dishes in fridge.

Use electric mixer to beat eggs and sugar for 8-10 minutes. Should be thick and creamy.

Fold in chocolate mixture, followed by the flour and cocoa powder.

Pour mixture into dishes then freeze for 1 hour.

Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius and bake for 16 minutes (or 22 minutes if you are using full ramekins). The cakes should be a little wobbly at the top when you take them out of the oven.

Leave to stand for 1 minute before tipping into a bowl to serve.

Top with cream/cocoa powder/ice cream/chocolate bars. Whatever takes your fancy. We only had Mars Bar ice creams in our freezer so I broke them up and put half on top of each lava cake. Best. Decision. Ever.

_____

Yes, this recipe does involve a bit of preparation, and can be slightly nerve wracking, but it is worth it in the end. Even if it comes out a chocolate mush, it’s still delicious!

My only tips would be to use the smallest ramekin size you have. The larger size you use, the more difficult it is to get the structural integrity right. I made four lava cakes in souffle ramekins (filled to the top) and two of them came out as delicious chocolate mush. The other two were perfect towers.

Also, use your intuition with the cooking time. I left mine in the oven for an additional few minutes because I was using a larger sized ramekin, but I can see how it would be very easy to over/under cook these finicky little desserts.

And finally, use high percentage dark chocolate (70% +) and maybe even a little bit of cocoa powder. Some comments from the original recipe mentioned a lacking of flavour without high percentage dark chocolate.

All round, a great dessert!

Happy baking,

~Gem.

Leave a Reply

