“The purpose of our lives is to be happy.” ~ Dalai Lama.

This is an important message which, I think, we forget from time to time. I know I certainly do.

Whenever I have a crisis of career (which is semi-regularly) I try to remember this. Making a decision about what to study, or which career to pursue is a very stressful thing. Especially for someone like me – and many others out there – who are interested in pretty much everything on the planet.

How can we be expected to choose ONE thing to dedicate our lives to? I have been out of high school for 5 years now and I still don’t know what I am supposed to be doing. I tried the working gap year. I tried engineering. Now I’m trying nursing. All the while I’m still working or volunteering on the side. I’m gaining experience every day and I feel no closer to making a decision.

But that is OKAY. There is no hurry – even though it feels like there is on days where everyone around me asks ‘what are you studying’ or ‘what do you want to do with your life?’. Simple answer, I’M STILL FIGURING IT OUT.

In our fast, technological society I think it is important that we take the time to slow down and really reflect upon what kind of life we want to lead. What do we value? What do we believe in? What do we want?

It’s hard to slow down sometimes, but it’s better to take your time and always strive towards happiness rather than settle.

Need more motivation? 

Watch THIS TED Talk by Emilie Wapnick called “Why some of us don’t have one true calling.” 

Best wishes and I hope you have a wonderful day!

As always, feel free to email or leave a comment. I’m always up for a chat. 🙂

Oh, and isn’t the moth in the cover photo beautiful? This little guy was sitting in the garden beside my car on Monday morning. Took a quick snap before heading off to work. Gorgeous colours!

Leave a Reply

