Healthy (and DELICIOUS!) Chocolate Cupcake Snack

Well, this was a pleasant surprise. As you may know, I have a massive sweet-tooth. I LOVE all things chocolate, as is probably evident by some of the recipes I have posted here in the past (classic example: Chocolate Souffle).

However, over the last few weeks I have been focusing on healthy eating and exercise. I am loving getting back into running (though when I do run I am a sweaty, wheezing slowpoke) and have been listening to the Zombies, Run! app (Go, Runner 5!). I am desperate to find out what happens at the end of season one.

zzz

So, I had resigned myself to the fact that I would be limiting my sweets intake for the foreseeable future. Of course, this is a depressing thing to come to terms with. What is life without chocolate? Thank goodness I came across this recipe on Pintrest.

I am always skeptical of ‘healthy’ versions of clearly unhealthy foods. Healthy cake. Healthy chocolate. Healthy candy. Healthy burgers. In my experience they either aren’t as healthy as they are telling you, or they taste like cardboard.

This was NOT the case for these cupcakes!

Wow, they taste awesome. I made them for my family; all of whom were more skeptical than I about ‘healthy’ chocolate cupcakes. We sat around the table and warily took our first bite. Everyone’s eyes lit up with surprise. Yum!

My brother said, “This isn’t terrible. This is actually nice.” and that was when I knew this recipe was a winner.

Many thanks to Katie from Chocolate Covered Katie for inspiring me to make this recipe. Darn, they are good! Find the link to the original recipe HERE or read on.

RECIPE: 

INGREDIENTS: 

2 1/2 cups of oats

1 1/4 cup of mashed, over-ripe banana (approx 3 bananas)

1/4 cup of maple syrup

2/3 cup of water

2 1/2 tbsp oil

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

1/4 cup of cocoa powder

Chocolate chips

(and I also added sunflower seeds because they are delicious).

METHOD: 

Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

Mix wet ingredients in a bowl (including the bananas).

Mix dry ingredients in another bowl.

Combine wet and dry ingredients well.

Pour into cupcake tin (with little cupcake liners to keep the shape).

Bake for 21 minutes, then turn off the oven and leave IN THE OVEN WITHOUT OPENING THE DOOR for a further 10 minutes.

Leave to cool overnight (or at least for a couple of hours if you can’t wait) and then devour them!

_____

DSC_0004

As I write this I am eating another of these cupcakes. They really are delicious.

I hope you enjoy them!

Have a lovely day.

~ Gem.

 

One thought on “Healthy (and DELICIOUS!) Chocolate Cupcake Snack

  1. Pingback: Easiest Lava Cake Recipe Ever! – alittlegemblog

Leave a Reply

