Day 15: NaNoWriMo 2016

We have reached the halfway point fellow writers! How many of you can say you are on track?

I hit the 20k word mark this afternoon, which is perfect since my goal is to have a 40k novel by the end of NaNoWriMo this year.

I like to do my first draft without much thought towards the actual writing (which sounds slightly counterproductive considering I’m trying to become a GOOD writer) and then flesh out the actual words during my first edit.

Unfortunately, I hate editing. So this makes the whole process of finishing a novel all the more challenging.

So, I’ve compiled 3 of my favourite writing, editing and inspirational blog posts below for any other writers out there who are sloshing through their manuscript and have hit a wall…

  1. 25 Steps to Edit the Unmerciful Suck out of your Story – This post makes the difficult task of editing slightly more bearable with humour and a bunch of ridiculously practical tips to get you through the horror show that is editing your novel. If you read one thing today – READ THIS.
  2. 31 Ways to Find Inspiration for your Writing – I love long lists. They are fuel for my procrastination. This one in particular is both long and offers some helpful ideas to keep the creative juices flowing.
  3. How to Write a Novel – WikiHow – I cannot tell you how many times I have procrastinated by googling ‘How to write a novel’. Most of the time, for me anyway, the answer should be STOP GOOGLING AND JUST WRITE. Anyways, my procrastination often leads me to WikiHow, which has quite a lot of information and some really helpful tips to keep you going. Gotta love WikiHow.

Hope you enjoyed today’s post. As always, feel free to comment below. I’d love to hear about what you are writing at the moment or any tricks you use to keep on track and motivated.

Hope you have a lovely day!

~ Gem.

2 thoughts on “Day 15: NaNoWriMo 2016

  1. Have you ever read The Beach by Alex Garland? I listened to him talk about it in interviews with him and it’s really interesting. He was pretty young when he wrote it and said he spent a lot of time and research just trying to figure out how to write a novel. I can’t remember exactly what his research entailed but I’m pretty sure said he just read a lot of novels lol. I guess that should be obvious.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

