Fresh Herb and Fetta Stuffed Chicken

I’m back!

Sorry everyone, I have completely neglected this blog for the past few weeks. I’ve just been organizing my new job and relocating to a new state. Very exciting!

So, I’m going to start back with a simple recipe which I have been loving since getting into fitness and healthy eating. Granted, this recipe isn’t quite as healthy as a salad, but it tastes awesome and is full of goodness (and it’s much healthier than anything you could buy from any fast-food supplier).

_____

Ingredients:

Chicken breasts

Garlic – crushed

Teaspoon of olive oil

Teaspoon of lemon juice

Assorted herbs (I use rosemary, basil and mint on rotation depending on how healthy the plant looks)

A block of fetta cheese

Leafy greens (spinach, lettuce, whatever)

Salt and pepper to serve

(Note: I have left out quantities because it is very much dependent on your own taste. Just make a judgement for yourself. I love fetta so my stuffing is mostly cheese. 😉 Make good choices. Also, don’t be afraid to get creative. I’ve added cherry tomatoes and onion to this recipe without any major disasters occurring.)

_____

Method:

Begin by making the stuffing. Crumble the fetta and combine with garlic, olive oil, lemon juice and chopped herbs in a bowl. Mix well. Stir in leafy greens of your choice. The stuffing should be pretty thick.

Now, slice the chicken breasts through the center and shove in as much stuffing as you can manage.

Brown the chicken on both sides (approx 2 mins – or until cooked through) in a hot pan with oil, then place on baking tray and bake for a further 20 minutes.

Serve with a fresh salad and enjoy the yummy, cheesy chicken!

_____

Again, apologies for my absence. I’ll try and post more regularly this month.

Have a lovely day!

~Gem.

 

Leave a Reply

