Fresh, Healthy and EASY Grilled Zucchini Snack

Sorry, I have neglected this blog for the past… TEN DAYS! Really? How time flies when you’re watching Netflix. Seriously, it’s a trap (but I LOVE Daredevil!).

Anyways, other than Netflix I have actually been rather busy getting into the new semester of university. I’ve got an engineering project, a maths course on ODE’s (ordinary differential equations – very interesting and highly applicable to modelling systems), a course entitled ‘Intermediate Mechanical and Space Dynamics’ (Eek!) and Philosophy 101… Yerp, philosophy.

I decided at the end of last semester that I wanted to try something other than maths, physics and engineering for once. And why go halfway? I jumped about as far away from engineering as possible with philosophy, but I’m loving it. It’s VERY different to what I’m used to studying and I’m still not used to the new learning style. It’s already messing with my brain. The whole thinking about thinking thing is pretty freaky… but fun!

_____

So, back to the real purpose of this post – I have been eating more healthily since getting back into exercise. After a year of lingering chronic fatigue from when I was very ill with Glandular fever, viral Hepatitis AND the worst Tonsillitis you can imagine all at once (lucky me – I don’t even do getting sick halfway) I finally have the energy to get back into exercising! And who doesn’t love getting up early and running down the street like a lunatic? It’s so relaxing (no joke – I LOVE it!).

obama

(PIC FOUND HERE)

So, this morning I experimented with a lovely new snack which I found on Pinterest (HERE). I manipulated the recipe slightly for my taste and lack of ingredients. It was surprisingly delicious! And very easy to make.

Ingredients: 

1 whole Zucchini

Grated tasty cheese

Chopped/crumbled fetta

Diced tomato

Diced purple onion (only need 1/3 of an onion)

Slice of lemon/lime (for juice)

Olive oil

Salt & pepper

_____

Method: 

  1. Slice zucchini long-ways in half and grill in a thin layer of olive oil.
  2. Sprinkle grated tasty cheese on top while still warm.
  3. Chuck the diced tomato, purple onion and fetta on top.
  4. Cover with lemon/lime juice and top with salt and pepper.
  5. Devour it!

_____

Enjoy the healthy snack!

Hope you are having a lovely day/night!

Let me know what you think of todays post. 🙂

~Gem.

 

Leave a Reply

