Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Page Count: 369

Originally Published: 2011

Favourite Quote: “I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

Opening Sentence: I had just come to accept that my life would be ordinary when extraordinary things began to happen…

_____

I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I picked up Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children from my local Dymocks a week ago. I was immediately creeped out by the picture on the cover (scary children are extra scary), and was then intrigued by the vintage (and also creepy) photography scattered throughout the book. It piqued my interest enough to fork out the $20 to buy it – and I’m very glad I did!

The story follows Jacob from his early childhood, when he was fascinated by his grandfather’s tales of a mysterious orphanage, terrifying monsters and peculiar children, into his incredibly ordinary teenage years. Ordinary, until his beloved grandfather dies in his arms and Jacob swears that a horrific monster was responsible.

Jacob then follows a trail of mysterious letters and photographs – determined to prove his grandfather’s sanity while simultaneously putting his own into question – in an attempt to find the lost orphanage where his grandfather’s peculiar stories originate.

_____

I loved this book. The story was fast-paced, the characters were fascinating and the descriptive imagery and writing style was almost hypnotic. I felt like I was watching a film rather than reading a book in many sections (which will be helpful when the film is released in September 2016).

The photography was truly fascinating – especially when I discovered that all of the photographs used in the book were authentic, vintage photos from ordinary collectors. And then when I found out that the photos hadn’t been altered to create the creepy and impossible images I got chills (trust me – there are some messed up pictures in this book!).

perr

I wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone who scares easily (like me), or if you do get scared read it during daylight hours. The book probably isn’t very scary to most – I’m just a wimp when it comes to scary things. 🙂

As always, definitely read the book before the movie is released so you have an idea of what is coming before you see it – and so you can complain about how the book was better than the movie later (I’m a book snob and proud of it!).

All up – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is well worth a read, and I will most definitely be purchasing the next book in the series next time I am in Dymocks!

Hope you are having a wonderfully peculiar day (that’s super corny – and I have no regrets),

~Gem.

Leave a Reply

