Delicious (and Easy) Chocolate Soufflé Recipe

I love to bake chocolatey deserts in my free time, because I love eating chocolatey deserts. This was my second attempt at the often intimidating soufflé – and although my first attempt rose much higher, this version tasted 10 times better. It was light, fluffy and had an almost mousse-like consistency in the gooey centre. Yum!

I found the recipe at ChefSteps.com which includes detailed instructions and an accompanying video to help you along the way.

I very slightly altered the recipe as below (mainly because my oven sucks…). Enjoy!

_____

Ingredients: 

45g of butter

100g caster sugar (75g for chocolate base, 23g for eggwhites, remaining to coat ramekins)

34g plain flour

188g whole fat milk

A pinch of salt

140g of dark cooking chocolate

3 egg yolks

5 egg whites

Icing sugar to serve

Custard to serve

NOTE: I like to have all my ingredients measured out and ready before I begin cooking.

_____

Utensils: 

Whisk

Folding spoon (really any flat-ish spoon – I’m not a fancy chef)

4 x ramekins

Electric Beater (can use whisk but I find a beater much easier)

Small pot

_____

Method: 

  1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius.
  2. Coat ramekins well with butter, and then a thin layer of caster sugar.
  3. Combine flour, remaining butter and salt in a bowl with fingers until no dry flour remains. Should be a wet, doughy sort of lump.
  4. Heat milk and 75g of caster sugar in a small pot until it boils (use medium-low heat).
  5. Add doughy flour mixture from step 3 to heated milk and whisk until dissolved.
  6. Add dark chocolate and stir until combined.
  7. Add 3 egg yolks and whisk until combined. Leave this chocolate base to cool slightly while completing step 8.
  8. Whip egg whites. Then add 23g of sugar and whip some more to form stiff, glossy peaks.
  9. Fold eggwhites into chocolate base gradually.
  10. Fill ramekins to the very top and clean off excess spillage.
  11. Bake for 20 minutes (use your own judgement depending upon your oven – I baked mine for 25 mins). NOTE: Remember to leave plenty of space for the soufflé’s to rise.
  12. Dust with icing sugar and pour custard into centre.
  13. Enjoy them, because they taste awesome!

_____

DSC_0077

These really do taste great! And the original recipe found HERE has some extra tips which I found very useful.

Have a lovely day!

~Gem

 

 

One thought on “Delicious (and Easy) Chocolate Soufflé Recipe

  1. Pingback: Healthy (and DELICIOUS!) Chocolate Cupcake Snack – alittlegemblog

Leave a Reply

