Cheap, Easy and Delicious Fritter Recipe

Hi there!

As of yesterday I have completed my final assessment piece for the semester. Now, all that remains is a two week study period (called SWOTVAC) and the dreaded final exams.

In my blog post Checklist for a Successful Day of Study the second item on the list for a successful day of study is to “Eat a Healthy Breakfast”.

Today, I would like to share with you one of my favourite breakfast recipes for when I need to save time and eat well.

 

Vegetable and Herb Fritter

Ingredients: 

3 cups of self-raising flour

2 eggs

2 cups of milk

Salt & pepper

2 cups of frozen vegetables (peas, corn, carrots)

Basil and mint to serve (optional – any herbs will do)

Vegetable oil

 

Method: 

Wisk together eggs and milk.

Pour eggs and milk into well in self-raising flour and mix until just combined.

Add frozen vegetables, salt and pepper and mix well.

Oil pan and spoon in batter (they puff up quite a bit – I only need one fritter to fill me up).

Cook on medium-high heat (should sizzle) and flip only once.

Once flipped, turn heat down and leave until cooked through.

Place on kitchen towel to drain off oil.

Slice up basil and mint and plate up.

_____

It’s super easy and tastes great! This batter lasts me about a week as long as I mix it daily and maybe add a little milk if it gets too gluggy.

Enjoy!

~Gem

 

Leave a Reply

