5 TV Shows and 3 Movies for Lazy Days

Freedom! After three weeks of non-stop exams, assignments and study, finally, I can give myself a day off. Yes, a whole day! I am very excited.

On the train ride home from university, I began excitedly thinking about how I will spend my free day. I plan to marathon my favourite shows while I eat junk food in my pyjamas. In other words, I shall be a couch potato. Perfect!

So, in light of my day of sloth tomorrow – here are my favourite 5 TV shows and 3 movies for days when I have nothing to do.

_____

TV Shows: 

1.Supernatural

I adore Supernatural. Dean, Sam, Cas and Crowley are perfect and can do no wrong – even when they start the apocalypse… twice.

2. Frasier

A good sitcom is perfect for a day of laziness, and this show is hilarious. The sheer fact that Frasier and Niles are professional psychiatrists, but are incapable of solving any of their problems like rational human beings, makes me laugh every time. Also the evolution of the relationship between Niles and Daphne is lovely.

3. The X-Files

Excluding the latest season (besides ‘Mulder and Scully Meet the Were-Monster’ which was the only GOOD episode the whole reboot) The X-Files is a great show to help you chill after exams. The show can be summarised as aliens (or are they?), also Mulder is a doof and Skully is a badass – what more could you want? (On a side note, I feel I owe Kim Manners a debt of gratitude for helping to create The X-Files and Supernatural – I wish I could thank him).

4. Brooklyn Nine-Nine

I’m so glad I was introduced to Brooklyn Nine-Nine late last year. I adore all of the characters. I especially love the hate-filled relationship between Captain Holt and Madeline Wuntch. The one-liners make me laugh until I cry. My personal favourite would have to be:

Wuntch: Hello, Raymond. How do you like my new office? Twentieth floor.

Holt: Yes, I never thought I’d see you this high without a broom under you.

5. Community

Good old Community – just an easy-going comedy that makes fun of everybody and I love it. Dan Harmon is brilliant – if a bit manic. I’m so glad it got a 6th season. Now I’m just waiting on the movie… #sixseasonsandamovie

_____

Movies: 

1.Independence Day

I cannot put into words how excited I am for Independence Day: Resurgence. I also cannot tell you how many times I have watched this film… Let’s just say I can quote the Presidents entire speech at the end… Yeah…

2. Love Actually 

This movie is beautifully written, edited, directed, and the cast is incredible. Technically a Christmas movie, but I’ve found excuses to watch it all year round. By far my favourite couple is Jamie (Colin Firth) and Aurelia, but young Sam and his American girl are super cute too. And I think the speech about airports at the beginning/end is beautiful – I LOVE airports.

3. Little Shop of Horrors 

Such great music and the puppetry of Audrey II is really amazing. I wish they made more movies like this…

_____

Well, I’m off to bed. I need to be well rested for my day of rest tomorrow!

Hope you are all well and are being kind to yourselves – after all, everyone deserves a day off on occasion. Goodnight!

 

Leave a Reply

