My Top 5 Animated Disney Films

Just a light-hearted, easy-going post for this afternoon… A little bit of Disney magic!

I believe you can learn a lot about a person, and their values, from their favourite children’s movies. When I decided to write this post I was surprised how much I struggled to cut my list down to just 5 films. And once I finished, I realized that two of the films on my list I saw for the first time as an adult. It just goes to show how many levels of comprehension Disney work on to entertain children, teenagers and adults alike.

So, here are my top 5 animated Disney films, and why:

1.Zootopia (2016)

I saw this film at the cinemas twice (which is rare for me – last time I saw a film twice was Avatar) and enjoyed it equally as much, if not more, the second time around. I suppose my appreciation of the film stems from my connection with Judy Hopps’ story as someone who is young, idealistic and determined entering a workforce as a minority (eg. women in mechanical engineering). On top of that, I adored the animation, the plot was exciting (I didn’t pick the twist at the end!), the voice acting was great, Shakira’s song “Try Everything” is ridiculously catchy, and I loved the positive message of equality it ultimately gave.

2. Atlantis: The Lost Empire (2001)

I cannot tell you how many times I have seen this movie. Milo Thatch and his journey as an awkward linguist desperate to prove the existence of Atlantis, is just perfect. The minor characters were all flawed, yet weird enough that you instantly loved them, and the adult jokes that went completely over my head as a kid are hysterical.

3. The Road to El Dorado (2000)

The music alone (written by Elton John) puts this movie in my top 5. On top of that, the characters Miguel and Tulio are hysterically funny, but were also developed as individuals who had clear motives of their own within the film. Their friendship was beautiful and their flaws very relatable. Again, the adult jokes in this one are shamefully funny and completely inappropriate for children – how did I miss them all for so long?

4. Lilo and Stitch (2002)

I re-watched this film the other day and cried like a baby. I never really connected the dots when it came to Lilo and Nani’s poverty, Nani’s desperation to do her best for Lilo, and the imminent threat of separation from child protection services. Then, Stitch shows up wanting nothing more than to belong and have a family, and breaks things for the majority of the film. Who could blame me for crying? *sniffles*

5. Brave (2012)

I love this family oriented tale set in beautiful Scotland. The animation of the scenery was incredible, and the effort put into Merida’s flaming red hair was impressive. I loved this refreshing tale where – finally – a Disney princess decided that she didn’t want to get married and was willing to fight for what she wanted. But, she wasn’t perfect and made some mistakes – eg. turned her mother into a bear – but then she fixed them and learned a valuable lesson on the importance of family. A lovely message and beautiful story.

____________________

This list was impossible. Just now I’m thinking – what about The Princess and the Frog, The Lion King, Tangled, Bambi, Peter Pan, The Little Mermaid, Mulan, what about freaking Fantasia!!! Nope, this is impossible. *flips table*

… So, what would your top 5 be? If you can pick just 5 (as I obviously cannot) let me know in the comments and I hope you are having a splendid day!

 

Leave a Reply

